Tuesday, July 21, 2009

Nine for 10

With their victory in the quarterfinals, the U.S. has now advanced to the semifinals of the Gold Cup in nine of 10 regional championship tournaments. Since winning the inaugural tournament in 1991 - defeating Honduras in penalties - the U.S. has collected four Gold Cup titles. Their only failure to reach the semifinals came in 2000 edition of the event, losing in the quarterfinals to Colombia in penalties after a 2-2 draw in regulation.

The U.S. also has twice finished as runners up (1993, 1998), and two third-place finishes (1996, 2003).

1 comment:

Roehl Sybing said...

Panama marks seven straight games in which the US has scored more than one goal.

You can't beat us if you can't keep us out of the net!